Saturday run! I mapped out a run on Google pedometer which looked like it went through the mountain. I had no idea what to expect. I missed nature and I really wanted to go run in these hills. After some small hills I reached Hollywood way and stopped and stretched. I knew it was going to be a rough one. I ran up on (and I am not kidding you) a 45 degree angle or more. This went on forever (it felt like), and it kept curving so you think it will top out and then it doesn’t.  I got to a fence that said I had reached a park and that I shouldn’t drive on the trail. I climbed more and more and more. I am really glad that there was no one around because I was breathing hard and may have looked like I was dying.

The trail was a sandy path unfortunately, because it just rained so it was a bit slippery and sinky. There were no trail markers but, there weren’t any trees around, or much brush to confuse the trail. I ran on. Then stopped and turned around. It was beautiful I won’t be able to do it justice with words, but you could see everything. All of Burbank lay before me, minuscule to its true self. I could see the mountains next to me and I could see their darker peaks and less dense valleys and there was no one around. This may be up there on one of the best runs I have ever been on in life.

I got back from the heavenly run and I went to the FREE pancake breakfast at the Kiwanis Club my cousin is a part of. When I got there and stood in a long line for pancakes they looked so fluffy and yummy. Then a cute old veteran showed me the best technique for putting syrup on my pancakes and I thanked him. People were sitting at long plastic tables and chairs, so I just went and sat down with randoms, everyone was very friendly. I filled out tickets for the drawing for 1,000 dollars, but didn’t win.

On my way back to the apartment I stopped at the farmers market. I bought some pomegranates. It was a typical farmers market with people yelling their wares only very small. There were only maybe 15 venders, with anything from honey to strawberries. Everything looked so good!Kiwanis President Burbank



WO: 12miles/6strides/2xabs
Conditions: cool

About jaqviva

Just another runner/climber trying to start her own sportswear company. Searching for the right path with purpose. LIFE!!! I'm so excited!

Leave a Reply

