I started running from the Y in San Fransisco and from there I could see the Golden Gate Bridge looming off in the distance. I was told that it was 15 miles round trip to get there and back, but I was like that is no 15 miles away. I stated going and I could catch glimpses of it as I ran down The Embarcadero.

I really had never been on this path before, so I just tried to stay as close to the water as possible some times that meant going down piers. It was just when I had started curving around one of these piers when I heard loud noises coming from the bay. There were sea lions all laying on one another on a dock, and they were barking like dogs, it was awesome. I just stopped and said, “Oh my god” aloud. I am fairly certain a fisher man was cracking jokes at my expense sitting behind me.

I ran on until I reached the bridge at that time I was around 50-ish mins out. I thought to myself well, you can almost run the Golden Gate Bridge or you can actually run it, so i just ran it. It was so beautiful the sun was just rising and all the colors were reflecting off the water. I stopped at a park on the other side just to look out and then came back. When I got over the bridge on my way back towards the Y, I gave a little whoop of excitement. I couldn’t help it; it had been building since I started.

WO: 15miles/6strides/2xabs
Conditions: Perfect

About jaqviva

Just another runner/climber trying to start her own sportswear company. Searching for the right path with purpose. LIFE!!! I'm so excited!

Leave a Reply

