The Red Wood forest was a magical place. I really don’t even want to put it into words, I mean you just need to go there. Just like you can’t ever capture reality in pictures, it is almost futile for me to describe it. I will say this, it was a humbling experience being so small and so new the earth then these wise old trees. It makes you realize what is truly important and meaningful to you.

Next we went to The Cheese Factory. They had all kinds of cheeses, olives and other snacks. We had a picnic on a bench near this little pond in the middle of a beautiful green lawn. There were all kinds of birds and wild life around to watch, unfortunately they found out that humans like to feed animals. So there was this bright eyed little bird that sat impatiently and waited for us to leave to steal some bread crumbs.

Finally the ocean, which was intense to the say the least. The tide was coming in and it was such a strong current. Someone told me to be careful, because one time a couple was standing on a rock in high tide and a wave crashed upon it and swept them out to sea. I wasn’t taking any chances. I am a fairly good swimmer, but when it comes to me vs ocean I think I am losing. I stayed by shore near the rocks. Which was cool because they had sea creatures all over them. I even got to hold a starfish.

WO:10miles(4mins threshold-1min rest-1min hard-3min rest x3) 4strides/ 2xabs
Conditions: Perfect

About jaqviva

Just another runner/climber trying to start her own sportswear company. Searching for the right path with purpose. LIFE!!! I'm so excited!

3 responses »

  1. van says:

    this is really great juxtaposition jackie. from grand old trees, food and factories, to the power of the ocean. this is truly the stuff

  2. Anonymous says:

    It was a wonderful experience. The world is a beautiful place πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

