I woke my sister up at 5:45am to get ready and go down to the Detroit Turkey Trot today. We left late as usual. All the cars were lined and we had to move both to get my sister’s car out. Luckily, we didn’t hit much traffic because we got off the freeway early and took back roads to get there.

After 15mins in a line we parked on COBO roof. It was 7:10am, and the race started at 7:45am, so we went  in search of bathrooms. There were tons and tons of people. I swear there are more every year. We had a bit of a bathroom crisis since they usually open the bathrooms on the 3rd floor and this year they were closed. Of course, being a girl you face the dreaded long line. If ever a time to wish you stood when you peed are situations like this. Luckily some lovely ladies whispered secretly to us, “there is one open further down”. Snatching this bit of advice, we took off running down the hall.

Needless to say now we were running really late to the race and I missed the fast wave. Which is a bummer because now I was stuck in runner traffic at painfully slow pace. I didn’t even look at my watch in the beginning I was so mad. It had stopped raining and it was a balmy 40 degrees. It was such great weather, it would of been perfect. I tried to still enjoy the run, but I have to admit I was crushed I couldn’t race. I ran into a few friends on the way and turned up the heat on the last two miles but it wasn’t the same.

😦

…Then I ate a whole bunch of good food and talked to some high quality people. It was a good day!

🙂

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!

jaq

WO:9miles/4strides
Conditions: Cool-ish

About jaqviva

Just another runner/climber trying to start her own sportswear company. Searching for the right path with purpose. LIFE!!! I'm so excited!

Leave a Reply

